How to Upgrade Chuwi VX2 Firmware or install Custom Rom

Discussion in 'Chuwi Unlisted' started by Wendi, Jun 17, 2014.

Remove Advertisements
  1. Wendi

Wendi Member

Tablet:
    Chuwi VX2
    Phone:
    971-282-1349, Chuwi VX2
    Hi. I'm looking to either re-flash stock rom or upgrade to a custom rom on my Chuwi VX2. I need a bit of instruction on how to do this as I'm new to android; this is my first smartphone/tablet.

The reason for this, other than the obvious fun of it, is there are a few problems with the current rom. The thing doesn't recognize the SD card, it reads it, but write to it only occasionally, and I can't get apps to install there. Also it flips out on occasion and phantom buttons are pressed at random unless I'm actively using it. That problem could be the charger, it usually only happens after a charge, but as I'm new to android I can't be sure.

Any instruction would help. Thnx.

Serial: 123456789SABCDEF
    Kernal: 3.4.5
    Android version: 4.2.2

2. mrkus21

mrkus21 Administrator Global Moderator

Tablet:
    See Signature
    Phone:
    See Signature
    TV Stick:
    See Signature
    First welcome to the Forums, Wendi !

I´m personally not familiar this time with MTK83 SoC flashing, but as more Devices come up I try to learn about Mediatek 83 Series.
    Anyway, let me tell you some Things about Chinese Tablets and Stuff...
    First Note: Firmware on these Devices is not always the best, but Custom Roms also aren´t the Solution every Time.

Just go to Device Info, and post the Build Number and FW Versions and stuff...
    Maybe I can provide you the Original FW from Chuwi. Last one was 2014-03-31.
    Just tell me what Version you have ?!

Your Problems...

SD Problem ? Did you try other SD Cards or did you format the CARD to make sure its really a Problem of the Tablet ?!